In 1789, Fort Washington was built in the area around Fourth and Arch Street overlooking the Licking River. The fort was originally built to protect the settlements in the Northwest Territory and was a base for many attacks on native tribes in the region. By 1803 the fort was abandoned by the army.
Across from Lytle Park on Arch Street where the fort once stood is this simple monument marking the area that once was Fort Washington. This monument is a replica of the fort’s blockhouse. This monument was originally dedicated in 1901.
Fort Washington Monument
Arch Street (near the Guilford School Building), Cincinnati