The Guilford School was built in 1913 and named after Nathan Guilford who helped establish the public school system in Ohio and became Cincinnati’s first public school superintendent. The building was designed by architects Frederick W. Garber and Clifford B. Woodward and is of a Renaissance Revival style. It is a beautiful brown brick building which served as a neighborhood school at the time and has separate entrances for the boys and girls. Since 1973 it has served as a school for disabled children. The entrances are adorned with the likeness of President George Washington and there is a marker on the side of the building which claims that Stephen Foster lived in a house on the site between 1846 and 1850.
The Guilford School
421 East Fourth Street, Cincinnati