The church was first organized in 1790 as the First Presbyterian Church and was located on Fourth Street. In 1816, some of the congregation split off to form the Second Presbyterian Church and made their home on Elm Street and later became known as the Covenant Presbyterian Church. In 1933 the two congregations merged once again to become the Covenant First Presbyterian Church. Through its history the church has had some notable members and pastors such as James Kemper, whose log cabin has been preserved in Sharon Woods, British theologian G. Campbell Morgan, and Reverend Lyman Beecher – an abolitionist and father of Harriet Beecher Stowe.
The church which stands today was built in 1875 and is a Gothic Revival Design. There are many fascinating features to the church like the interior which is designed after seventeenth century Gothic tithing-barns in Scotland and England, the pulpit which is carved from Black Walnut by Henry L. Fry, and the tower bell which was cast by Paul Revere and is stamped with, “Revere, Boston”. The church is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Covenant First Presbyterian Church
717 Elm Street, Downtown