Completed in 1926, this 14 story building was once the home of the Cincinnati Enquirer. The Enquirer occupied the first 5 floors of the building for their business, editorial, and shop facilities. The building was designed by Lockwood, Greene & Company of Philadelphia and is a mix of Art Deco, Pre-modern, and Gothic styles. The building has many details from bronze figures adorning the entry to stone figures, gargoyles, and second floor balconies with Greek columns. Restoration was done on the building in 1982 and the building is on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Cincinnati Enquirer began as a newspaper in 1841 and remains Cincinnati’s only daily paper. The Enquirer no longer occupies this building as they moved their offices to their new building on Elm Street which was built in 1992.
In pop culture, many may know this building as the Osgood R. Flimm building which was the office of WKRP in Cincinnati and shown in the opening credits.
Cincinnati Enquirer Building
617 Vine Street, Downtown