Around 1873, the Cincinnati Observatory moved from its location in Mt. Adams to Mt. Lookout. This was due to the increased number of factories in Cincinnati. The smoke from these factories made it impossible to properly work a telescope. The building that was left vacant in Mt. Adams found use as the first monastery for the Passionist Fathers. The Passionist Fathers leased this property for 99 years with an option to purchase. Over the years, they found that a larger church and building were needed and in 1895, the church that was once the Holy Cross Church was built with a new monastery built in 1901. In 1970, the Holy Cross Church merged its congregation with the Immaculata Church in Mt. Adams and in 1977, the old church and monastery was converted into offices and it is still used as that today.
1055 St. Paul Place, Mt. Adams