The Parish began in 1819 with the first church being a small wooden building on the corner of Liberty and Vine. Bishop Fenwick purchased some property on Sycamore Street and placed the small wooden church on rollers and more it to site where this church now stands. There was need for a larger church and this church was completed in 1861 with Bishop Purcell celebrating the first mass at the church that year. In 1882, a fire destroyed the interior and roof but the church was rebuilt the same year. In 1987, the church underwent a renovation and was redecorated. To this day, the church still serves the downtown area and is on the National Register of Historic Places.
St. Xavier Church
607 Sycamore Street, Downtown