This social club got its start in 1911 when members of the Cuvier Club (named after naturalist George Cuvier) merged with the Pen and Pencil Club. The club was located on Opera Place until 1938 when they moved to the Fechheimer Mansion on Garfield Place and changed their name to the Cuvier Press Club. This home was designed by Samuel Hannaford and is an Italian Renaissance style home. In 1973, the city purchased the home and used it as a senior center. In 2005, it was purchased by LPK and joined with the Butterfield Senior Center building next door and is used as a meeting facility. The home is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Cuvier Press Club Building
22 Garfield Place, Downtown