The Underwriters Salvage Corps was an organization which was formed in 1886 to work with the fire department and fire insurance companies. Its primary purpose was to assist the fire department at the scene of a fire to save people and properties surrounding the fires. Once fire departments became more common and established, the role of the Underwriters Salvage Corps was limited to cleaning up after a fire. The Underwriters Salvage Corps was disbanded in 1959.
This building was the site of Station 1 of the Salvage Corps. It was built in 1897 by William Schuberth and was used to store equipment and as the office for the employees on duty. It is a brick Queen Anne style structure and is on the National Registry of Historic Places.
Underwriters Salvage Corps Building
110 East Eighth Street, Downtown