The original courthouse was destroyed during the Cincinnati Riots of 1884 by an angry mob which was dissatisfied over the verdict given to a man who was accused of murder. The courthouse on Main Street and Central Parkway was built in 1919 and is the sixth courthouse built for the county. Designed by architects Rankin, Kellogg & Crane, it has a Greek Ionic style made of limestone and tall columns. Inside the lobby you will find memorials dedicated to those who lost their lives in the riots of 1884. When it was first built, it was used to house the jail in the attic space until a new jail was built on the corner of Sycamore and Central. There is an enclosed skywalk between the jail and courthouse used to transport prisoners from the jail to the courthouse for their court appearances. Today it is used for the courts and court related offices and holds the law library of the Cincinnati Law Library Association.
Hamilton County Courthouse
1000 Main Street, Cincinnati