Lincoln Court was built in 1940 to house African American families displaced by Laurel Homes. It consisted of 53 buildings with 1,015 apartments that ranged from 2 to 6 rooms each. Lincoln Court also featured a church, 2-story community building, and a swimming pool. Between 2000 and 2002, Lincoln Court was demolished to make way for City West. None of the original buildings remain.
Located at Cutter Street and Ezzard Charles Drive is a
monument honoring the African American residents of Lincoln Court and Laurel
Homes who served in World War II. The
monument has a bust of Abraham Lincoln with a bronze plaque engraved with the
names of the 268 soldiers from the neighborhood. The monument was erected in 1946 and once stood at the entrance
of Lincoln Court. In 2005, the monument
was moved to its current location.