Columbia-Tusculum is Cincinnati’s oldest neighborhood and was founded in 1788 when Benjamin Stites and 26 settlers arrived to create the village of Columbia. Around 1815, the settlers started to move up Tusculum Hill to avoid some of the flooding from the Ohio River and it was at that time that Columbia-Tusculum was born. In 1873, the town was annexed by the city of Cincinnati. The Columbia-Tusculum Historic District contains homes from the late 1700’s to the mid 1800’s as well as the homes that have best identified with the town – the painted ladies.
These painted lady homes are painted with up to 5 different bright colors and are usually Victorian and sometimes Queen Anne homes but it is common to see other styles of homes in the area with the same type of color palette. The homes can be found on almost any street in the area with a large collection of them up on the hill on Tusculum Avenue. These homes make the area a very colorful and unique part of Cincinnati.