In 1915, General Hospital opened and served as a teaching hospital and care facility for the poor. Samuel Hannaford designed the 24-building campus and the areas were separated to prevent the spread of diseases that were thought to be airborne at the time. By 1960 the administration of the hospital was transferred from the city to the University of Cincinnati. By 1969 an emergency unit and high-rise main building was constructed and the majority of the original buildings except for a few were torn down. One of the few that still stands is the General Hospital Nurses Home, which is on the National Register of Historic Places.
In 1982 the hospital changed its name from General Hospital to the University of Cincinnati Hospital and in 1994 it became University Hospital, part of the UC Health network. Today the hospital is a state of the art facility, which still serves as a teaching hospital for the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine.
234 Goodman Street, Avondale