The Academy of the Sacred Heart was founded in 1869 as a Catholic boarding school for girls operated by the Ladies of the Sacred Heart of Jesus. The academy started on 6th street but moved to this location in 1876. The building is the former mansion of William Neff, a wealthy pork packer and was built in 1867. William Neff called his estate, “The Windings” and is modeled after the Kenilworth Castle in England. The Gothic style home is constructed of gray ashlar stone and all of the woodwork was carved by hand. The home proved to be too costly for Neff who sold it to the Academy of the Sacred Heart. A chapel and additional buildings designed by Samuel Hannaford were later added.
The academy closed in 1970 and in 1989 the building was converted into condominiums. It is on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Academy of the Scared Heart
525 Lafayette Avenue, Clifton