Built in 1867, this castle-like home was built for 19th century iron merchant George K. Schoenberger who also was one of the developers of Spring Grove Cemetery. The home was name Scarlet Oaks after many of the oak trees that grew on the property. The home is a Romanesque style building made of stone with French-Gothic style windows.
The home was purchased in 1908 by Ernest H. Huenefeld and given to the Bethesda Methodist Deaconess to use as a home for the elderly. Additional buildings were added over the years and today the grounds contain a health center and residential units. The original home is used as a chapel, library, and recreation center.
Bethesda Home for the Aged
440 Lafayette Avenue, Clifton