This 90-acre park was purchased in 1872 and opened as a park in 1874. The park features a fishing lake that was built in 1875, a historic bandstand that was built in 1911, hiking trails, and a disc golf course. Near the lake is the Trailside Nature Center which contains a nature library and children’s museum. Located in the nature center is the Wolff Planetarium, which is the oldest planetarium west of the Allegheny Mountains. Just outside of the nature center is a stone slide that was designed by Carl Freund and built by the Works Progress Administration.
Near Martin Luther King Jr. Drive is the H.H. Richardson monument. It is carved from 84 tons of pink granite from the former Chamber of Commerce building that was destroyed by fire in 1911. Named after the architect of the building, the monument was created by University of Cincinnati students in 1972.
Near Clifton Avenue is the Lone Star Pavilion. Dedicated in 1974, the pavilion has two cannons that were given to Sam Houston by his friends in Cincinnati for use in the battle for Texas independence.
The Audubon Society named the park an important birding area.