The congregation held its first services in 1844 in a small schoolhouse on Clifton Avenue. Construction of the church was completed in 1867 and was designed by architect William Tinsley. The church is a Gothic Revival design and this style was chosen to fit in with the homes in the community. Mr. and Mrs. Henry Probasco donated the tower and bell in honor of Tyler Davidson. Artist Francis Pedretti designed the interior of the sanctuary. William Burnham designed the west window and patterned it after the famed; “The Five Sisters” window in the York Cathedral. In 1886, the Calvary Church of Clifton was formed. A later addition was the Parish house and Sunday school designed by Samuel Hannaford & Sons and is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Calvary Episcopal Church
3766 Clifton Avenue, Clifton