Designed by Samuel Hannaford, this Italian Renaissance building was built in 1893 as The Phoenix Club, an organization for Jewish Businessmen. The building features a white marble staircase and Tiffany glass imported from Germany. In 1911 the building was purchased by the Cincinnati Club and was used as a sports annex. A lap pool and bowling alley were installed in the basement and the second floor had a billiards room. The Cincinnati Club closed the annex in 1983 and by 1988 it was restored to its original form and opened as a restaurant. Today it is known as The Phoenix and can be booked for private events, banquets, and weddings.
812 Race Street, Downtown