This building was once the Alms and Doepke Dry Goods Company operated by William F. Doepke, William H. Alms, and Frederick H. Alms. At the time it was the largest department store in Cincinnati and the second largest west of New York. The Victorian style building was started in 1878 with additions added later by Samuel Hannaford in 1886 who built the 7-story building on the north west side and Daniel Burnham on the east end in 1912. When the building was originally built it bordered the Miami Erie Canal. The department store closed in 1955. By 1995 the building was renovated and now serves as offices for Hamilton County as well as Hamilton County Job & Family Services.
The building is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Alms and Doepke Building
222 East Central Parkway, Over-The-Rhine