The Barlow Motors building is actually a pair of buildings that were built in 1915 and 1917 for the Barlow Hodson Motor Car Company. These beaux-arts buildings were designed by Harry Hake. The building featured a drive-in elevator that would take automobiles to the second floor for service. The building is made of concrete and was a city approved bomb shelter during World War II.
The building was restored by the Bruce D. Robinson Design Group to use as office space for the company. Many of the original features remain from the sign on the outside of the building, artifacts from the building and the elevator floor, which acts as a ceiling for the main lobby. A sky garden was added to the rooftop and a glass corridor to link the pair of buildings together.
At the rear of the building is an outline of a canal house that once stood there during the days of the Miami-Erie Canal.
Barlow Motors Building
1100 Race Street, Over-The-Rhine