Located along the Ohio River next to Coney Island and Riverbend Music Center is River Downs. The track opened in 1925 as the Coney Island racetrack. Following the flood of 1937 the track reopened as River Downs. In 1988 the open-air grandstand was rebuilt to resemble the original grandstand from 1925 and seats approximately 8,500. There is a one-mile long oval dirt track with two chutes and a 7-furlong turf course as well as 1,350 stables.
River Downs has seen many racing champions run its tracks like a few appearances from the famed Seabiscuit as well as champions Black Gold, Crusader, Harlan’s Holiday and Spend A Buck. Many famous jockeys have run the track as well like Larry Snyder, James Graham John McKee, Rafael Bejarano, and Triple Crown winner Steve Cauthen who got his start at River Downs.
Live racing runs from April through Labor Day with simulcast racing throughout the year.
Plans are underway to tear down the grandstand and build a new race and casino complex by 2014.
6301 Kellogg Avenue, California