Located on the corner of Ninth and Main Street, the Second
National Bank building was built in 1908 and designed by architects George S.
Werner and John S. Adkins who also designed buildings such as the Cincinnati
Athletic Club. This 13 story
Neoclassical building is made of concrete The interior was designed by Charles
A. Pedretti. Today the building serves
Completed in 2010 by ArtWorks, the mural consists of eight
panels located on a train overpass at Delta and Eastern Avenues. This colorful mural depicts the scenery and
life in Columbia Tusculum and features the painted lady homes, hills, the Ohio
River, and the residents of the neighborhood.
Located along the Ohio River next to Coney Island and
Riverbend Music Center is River Downs.
The track opened in 1925 as the Coney Island racetrack. Following the flood of 1937 the track
reopened as River Downs. In 1988 the
open-air grandstand was rebuilt to resemble the original grandstand from 1925
and seats approximately 8,500. There is
a one-mile long oval dirt track with two chutes and a 7-furlong turf course as
well as 1,350 stables.
River Downs has seen many racing champions run its tracks
like a few appearances from the famed Seabiscuit as well as champions Black
Gold, Crusader, Harlan’s Holiday and Spend A Buck. Many famous jockeys have run the track as well like Larry Snyder,
James Graham John McKee, Rafael Bejarano, and Triple Crown winner Steve Cauthen
who got his start at River Downs.
Live racing runs from April through Labor Day with simulcast
racing throughout the year.
Plans are underway to tear down the grandstand and build a
new race and casino complex by 2014.
With the cholera epidemic of the 1830’s and 1840’s the
smaller cemeteries around the city became overcrowded and there was a need for
a larger cemetery with room for expansion.
In 1844, members of the Cincinnati Horticultural Society formed a
cemetery association and went out looking for a location for a cemetery that
was close to the city but with enough room for growth. The plan was to create a cemetery that was a
serene and respectful place for burial.
The cemetery was to be modeled after cemeteries like Père Lachaise
Cemetery in Paris. With the help of
attorney Salmon P. Chase who lobbied for the charter and special legislation,
Spring Grove Cemetery was formed in 1845 with the first burial that same year.
Johnny Appleseed monument.
Landscape architect Howard Daniels was commissioned for the
design of Spring Grove and in 1855 landscape architect Adolph Strauch was hired
to renovate the grounds. It was at
Spring Grove where Adolph Strauch developed the “landscape-lawn plan”. The plan emphasizes the land as a whole
instead of individual features giving the area a more park like setting. A single prominent monument with similar
individual stones was encouraged in order to promote a more unified look and
ponds were placed around the property to drain what was once marshy land. The cemetery features many interesting
tombstones, statues, memorials, and mausoleums as well as a large collection of
obelisks, which mark individual family plots.
The winding roads and stone bridges add to the beauty of the land around
There are many notable figures buried at Spring Grove
including Governor’s, Civil War Generals, businessmen, Senators, Congressmen,
and athletes. Some of these are Salmon
P. Chase, Nicholas Longworth, Bernard Kroger, Charles Fleischmann, Powel
Crosley Jr., James Findlay, William Proctor, James Gamble, Charley Harper,
General William Haynes Lytle, George Hunt Pendleton, and Alphonso Taft to name
Willow Water Lake with the McCook memorial in the background (on right).
In 1987 the name was changed to Spring Grove Cemetery and
Arboretum. Spring Grove contains a
large collection of native and exotic plants as well as many state and national
Spring Grove totals 733 acres with 450 acres currently maintained
and is a National Historic Landmark.
Tours of the grounds and events are held throughout the year.
Built in 1893 and designed by George W. Rapp, the Goodall
building is a Renaissance Revival building made of brick, sandstone, and
iron. The 7-story building features
oriel windows above the main entrance.
It was built for William Goodall, a businessman who sold stone, granite,
and marble. Goodall did not run his
business from here but instead rented it to other businesses. The building is on the National Register of
Historic Places and is considered a good example of commercial Second
Renaissance Revival architecture.
In the summer of 2012 the Taft Museum of Art
partnered with various organizations in the area and placed 80 framed
reproductions of paintings from the museum in public spaces around the
area. The Art for All project
celebrates the Taft Museum’s 80th Anniversary and brings the works
of art from the museum to the public. The following are just a few of the paintings that can be found around the area.
Early Autumn Forest of Fontainebleau by Narcisse
Virgile Diaz de la Peña, Lunken Trail
Landscape Mural by Robert S. Duncanson, Sawyer
An Extensive Valley with a Distant City by Aert
van der Neer, Glenwood Gardens