This brewery started in 1826 when John Walker received the brewery as a payment for a debt. Walker was unsuccessful at selling it so he started the John Walker Brewery. The brewery was once located at the corner of Sycamore Street and Reading Road. In 1836 John Walker got a partner in the business and the name changed to the John Walker & Company. John Walker died in a brewery accident in 1853 and his wife took over the operations of the brewery until her death in 1858. After her death, Walker’s nephews operated the brewery. In 1878 Peter Andrews and Conrad Shultz purchased shares of the brewery from the nephews and changed the name to J. Walker Brewing Company. The brewery remained in operation until 1912.
In 1879, Walker’s nephews started their own brewery in the West End called The Walker Bros. Brewery, also known as The Champion Ale & Porter Brewery. This brewery lasted only a few years before closing.
The brewery structures are no longer standing but the home that John Walker built is still located on the northeast corner of Sycamore Street and Liberty Street. John Walker built the home in 1847 and his nephews added the storefront in 1861 and used it as an apothecary. The home is on the National Register of Historic Places.